Boys Basketball


The Derryfield Boys’ Varsity Basketball program was established and guided by NHIAA Hall of Fame coach Dennis Holland, who led the team for 31 years and won a state title in 1983. Since then, the program has had success with consistent appearances in the state tournaments. Numerous players have received All-State recognition from the New Hampshire Basketball Coaches Association and the program is proud to have a strong presence each season on the All-Academic team. The team is presently coached by Ed Meade, whose teams look to be high-pressure on defenses with a quick pace on offense. The team’s recent success is a product of hard work put forth by motivated and skilled players. Since 2010, they have been in the Final Four eight times and have been runners-up twice. The program constantly strives to challenge its opponents and be competitive while maintaining a core of fair play and sportsmanship.

Boys' Varsity Basketball Calendar


The Boys’ JV Basketball team is designed to train and prepare players for the varsity level. This program emphasizes skill building coupled with learning the strategy of the game. We are recognized for our defensive talent, especially a high-pressure full-court press that frustrates many teams we play. All boys interested in the basketball program at Derryfield participate in preseason practice sessions that focus on fitness and coaching instruction; these sessions also help coaches select varsity-qualified players. Although players are placed on the JV squad, some may also earn playing time on the varsity team during the season. Since 2005, the team has experienced winning seasons and was champion of the 2008 Pittsfield Police tournament, an end-of-season contest exclusively for junior varsity teams.

Boys' JV Basketball Calendar