Derryfield Senior Named Presidential Scholar

Derryfield Senior Named Presidential Scholar

Elaine Loft, Staff Writer

U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona announced on May 9 that Prayag Patel ‘24, of Auburn, has been named a Presidential Scholar. He is one of three seniors in New Hampshire recognized for one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students. 

“The 161 high school seniors selected for the 60th anniversary of the U.S. The Presidential Scholars program represent the best of our nation’s schools, and inspire hope in the bright future of this country,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. “On behalf of President Biden, I am delighted to celebrate their accomplishments, and encourage these scholars to continue to aim high, lift up others, and embrace opportunities to lead.”

Andy Chappell, Head of School, said of Patel:

“All of us at Derryfield are very proud of Prayag for being named a U.S. Presidential Scholar. An inquisitive and reflective student, a talented and inspiring leader in his extracurricular activities, and a generous and kind community member, Prayag epitomizes all that we hope a Derryfield student will become. It’s terrific to see him recognized  for all that he has accomplished and who he is as well as for his dedication, resilience, and unwavering pursuit of excellence.”

Jill Teeters, his college counselor, added:

“Creative and driven, this young scholar is a pro at juggling the many demands of his academic, musical and community involvements. Prayag is an incredible student whose work, and poise, continue to impress teachers and peers alike.”

Patel offered his own words:

“It is a true honor to receive this award and be recognized in this way. This achievement would not have been possible without my teachers, who have dedicated themselves to providing me with a quality education; my peers, whom I have relied on for both social and academic support; and my family, who have offered me with countless opportunities to learn. I like to think this award says less about my academic abilities and more about the unwavering support of those around me.”

Past Derryfield U.S. Presidential Scholars:
Ellen June Yoffa ’69
Matthew M. Boelig ’02
Kaitlin Fink ’11
Elizabeth G. Krogman ’16
Gavin T. Shilling ’17
Prayag Patel ’24

In Other News