Derryfield Inducts 35 into National Honor Society

Derryfield Inducts 35 into National Honor Society

Elaine Loft, Staff Writer

The Derryfield School inducted 35 students into the National Honor Society in a ceremony in the Nancy S. Boettiger Theater. Head of School, Andy Chappell, gave opening remarks.

“Induction into the National Honor Society not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but also challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service. The National Honor Society (NHS) values scholarship, leadership, service, and character, aligning with the aims of our founders in the Derryfield Statement of Philosophy, which says, ‘Recognizing that academic achievement without compassion and concern for others is meaningless, we are committed to purposeful involvement in the world outside our school in both the local and the global community.'”

After describing the characteristic of each of the four pillars of NHS, Assistant Academic Dean Judy Reynolds remarked, 

“Perhaps it is of no surprise that so many of our students embrace these four pillars as part of their daily lives. We are lucky to be a part of a school community where these characteristics are not uncommon, where students support and inspire each other, and where these qualities are embedded in the school’s mission and core values.”

Derryfield School National Honor Society inductees:

Avenley Allen, Jessica Avalon, Caroline Barrett, Alex Benson, Noah Bobotas, Crow Bonnema, Chloe Bremberg, Clark Cayer, Isabelle Christian, Ali Cole, Reaghan Cook-Moore,Sophia Correnti, Andy Dell’Orfano, Natalie Duncan, Jackie Fanburg, Mia Freund, Erica Gerson, Ashwini Gurung, Ryan Jukes, Megan Lautieri, Stephanie Livingston, Caleb May, Katelyn McCormic, Kate McGee, Aidan Moavenian, Brianna Murray, RJ Proulx, Fernando Sandoval, Sarah Stonaker, Lydia Taylor, Ben Truebe, Avi Ullal, Aubrey Webb, Ipeksu Yucel, Jerry Zhang

In Other News